Anecdotes · Random stories

Praise or Criticism? – 18.07.17

I volunteer at a hospital serving food and drinks and helping with feeds where possible.

Today I was serving food to a patient with dementia. Now I realise, having previously worked with dementia patients, how serious the condition is and I have a big heart for wanting to find a cure for it. However, this is just a light hearted story that perhaps reflects more on my inability at times with communication.

At the time I was serving this particular patient their food they were pre-occupied with the fact that the bed wasn’t made and that because no-one else had done it (although I am sure it was made earlier whilst staff were getting them dressed for the day) they needed to do it there and then. I didn’t want to disturb the patient from their bed making duties so I quietly placed the food on their table and left to serve others their food.

Later, I came back to give this patient a coffee (their ultimate favourite drink forcing us to make it decaffeinated) which was greatly received and I was thanked profusely for it. Additionally, at that time, I was also asked about what food was on their plate. So, I explained and was once again thanked profusely. However, there was mention of a certain member of staff who was not up to scratch as they did not explain the food that was dumped on the patients’ table. And guess who that member of staff was…ME! He’d forgotten that I had been in the room at all?!

It’s hard to say whether I should’ve felt pleased or disappointed in myself in this particular situation!

Leave a comment